The material provided on the 211 eLibrary is for informational purposes only. It is not intended to be and should not be construed as legal advice.
The following information is taken from the Connecticut Department of Children and Families
Q&As ABOUT REPORTING CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT
WHO IS A MANDATED REPORTER?
Under Connecticut law, the following professionals are “mandated reporters” and are therefore required to report known or suspected incidents of abuse or neglect of any child under age 18 and any child under age 21 if the child is a DCF client:
WHAT IS A MANDATED REPORTER REQUIRED TO DO?
Mandated reporters are required to report or cause a report to be made when, in the ordinary course of their employment or profession, they have reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a child under the age of 18 and any child under the age of 21 if the child is a DCF client, has been abused, neglected or is placed in imminent risk of serious harm.
Child abuse occurs when a child has had physical injury inflicted upon him other than by accidental means, has injuries at variance with history given of them, or is in a condition resulting in maltreatment, such as, but not limited to, malnutrition, sexual molestation or exploitation, deprivation of necessities, emotional maltreatment or cruel punishment.
Child neglect occurs when a child has been abandoned, is being denied proper care and attention physically, emotionally, or morally, or is being permitted to live under conditions, circumstances or associations injurious to his well-being.
An oral report must be made within 12 hours of the alleged abuse, followed by a written one (DCF 136 form) within 48 hours after that, both to the DCF Careline, 1-800-842-2288. The written report form is available on the DCF website at https://portal.ct.gov/DCF/1-DCF/Reporting-Child-Abuse-and-Neglect or one can be requested when an oral report is made to the DCF Careline. A law enforcement agency must immediately notify DCF when it receives an oral report.
Mandated reporters are required to give their name when they make a report to DCF, however, reporters may request anonymity to protect their privacy. This means that DCF would not disclose their name or identity unless mandated to do so by law (Connecticut General Statutes, Sections 17a-28 and 17a-101). Unless a reporter gives written consent, his or her name will not be disclosed except to:
If DCF suspects or knows that the reporter knowingly makes a false report, his or her identity shall be disclosed to the appropriate law enforcement agency and the person may be subject to the penalty described in the next section.
Note: Effective 6/6/22, DCF now allows mandated reporters to file non-emergent reports via an online portal by utilizing mobile devices, tablets, laptops, or a desktop computer. The portal is available here https://portal.dcf.ct.gov . If filing a non- emergent CPS report online, reporters do not need to call or submit a DCF- 136.
The DCF Careline should remain being called at 1-800-842-2288 for emergent situations that may include but are not limited to a child(ren):
For more information on Connecticut Laws and Information about Child Abuse and Neglect, visit the Connecticut Judicial Branch Law Libraries webpage: https://www.jud.ct.gov/lawlib/law/childabuse.htm
TO FIND PROVIDERS IN CONNECTICUT’S COMMUNITY RESOURCES DATABASE:
Search by service names:
Connecticut Department of Children and Families: What Mandated Reporters Need to Know
PREPARED BY: 211/nl
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED: March2022