The following was taken from SAFE KIDS CONNECTICUT.
Child Passenger Safety Laws in Connecticut has been revised:
Effective October 1, 2017, new law, CT HB6956 has been implemented. Visit this link to review the new law: https://legiscan.com/CT/text/HB06956/id/1561833
PUBLIC ACT 05-58
What are the Child Passenger Safety Laws in Connecticut?
LAW: Infants must remain rear-facing until they are a minimum of both 2 years and 30 pounds.
LAW: Toddlers must be in a forward facing car seat with a 5 point harness until 5 years and 40 pounds.
LAW: Children should ride in a booster seat until they reach 8 years old AND 60 pounds (they must meet both requirements). Children who ride in a booster seat must use a lap and shoulder belt.
LAW: Children, tweens and teens must be in a seat belt whenever they ride in a vehicle.
Further Recommended: Children should ride in the back seat until they are 13 years old. All people and objects should be properly restrained whenever they are in a vehicle.
For additional information: http://www.ctsafekids.org/child-passenger-safety/
THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF PEDIATRICS: CAR SEATS: INFORMATION FOR FAMILIES AS OF 2018
All children younger than 13 years should be restrained in the rear seats of vehicles for optimal protection.
CAR SEAT SAFETY CLINICS
Car seat safety clinics are offered periodically throughout Connecticut. Certified child passenger safety seat technicians will check for proper installation and usage, and can advise participants of recalls on a particular car seat. Call the State Department of Transportation for the dates, times, and locations of car seat safety clinics.
TO FIND PROVIDERS IN CONNECTICUT’S COMMUNITY RESOURCES DATABASE:
Search by service names:
Child Passenger Safety Seats
Child Passenger Safety Seat Inspections
SOURCE: American Academy of Pediatrics, AAP News
PREPARED BY: 211/mm
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED: June2022