NOTE: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Department of Motor Vehicles – acting on the recent declaration signed by Governor Ned Lamont – now offers an extension period to Connecticut residents with expiring DMV credentials.
The extension includes all Connecticut driver’s licenses, learner’s permits, identity cards, emissions testing and registrations.
Please see the Connecticut DMV website for more information, https://portal.ct.gov/DMV/General/Deadlines-Extended
NOTE: The Department of Homeland Security announced that it is extending the Real ID enforcement deadline by a year to Oct. 1, 2021 due to the coronavirus.
The previous deadline was for Oct. 1, 2020. People will either need a valid passport or REAL ID-compliant driver’s license or state identification card to fly domestically and enter certain federal buildings by Oct. 1, 2021.
The following is summarized from the website of the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles: http://www.ct.gov/dmv/site/default.asp
All driver’s licenses and learner’s permits are issued through the DMV.
HOW TO OBTAIN A LEARNER’S PERMIT: Applicants need to be 16 years old before they can apply for a Learner’s Permit. A parent, court-appointed legal guardian, or spouse over the age of 18 must accompany the applicant or provide a notarized 2D Certificate of Parental Consent form:(https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/20/29/2dpdf.pdf?la=en). To obtain a new learner’s permit you will need to provide valid/unexpired, original documents or certified copies. For more information go to: https://portal.ct.gov/DMV/Licenses/Licenses/Applying-for-a-License/Acceptable-Forms-of-Identification Applicants will be required to pay a fee and take a knowledge and a vision examination. The Connecticut Driver’s Manual (www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=2594&q=245446) should be studied and the Guide to Passing Your Driving Test (https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/20/29/passpdf.pdf?la=en) should be read prior to taking the test. New permit holders need at least 40 hours of behind the wheel training before applying for their driver’s license. They must also complete an eight hour safe driving course. Also, parents or legal guardians are required to complete a two hour class with the permit holder concerning teen driving laws. For the entire time a driver holds a learner’s permit, he or she may not have any passengers except for a licensed driving instructor or one person who is providing instruction and is at least 20 years old, has held a driver’s license for four or more consecutive years and whose license has not been suspended during the four years prior to training. Parents or legal guardians can accompany the instructor.
GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSE: During the first 6 months, newly licensed 16 and 17 year old drivers may not have any passengers in the vehicle except for: a licensed driving instructor or his or her parents or legal guardian or one person who is at least 20 years old, has held a driver’s license for 4 or more consecutive years, and whose license has not been suspended during the 4 years preceding the time of being transported. During the next six months (months 7 through 12) the only additional passengers allowed in the vehicle are the members of the driver’s immediate family.
HOW TO OBTAIN A CONNECTICUT DRIVER’S LICENSE: Applicants must schedule an appointment to take a driver’s license test. Beginning in spring 2017 DMV will mail a new photo image license to all qualified applicants. The following documents are needed at the time of the test:
Applicants must pay a license fee and supply an insured and registered vehicle for the test. The examination consists of an eye test, a knowledge test, and a road test. If the applicant does not pass the tests, they can re-schedule a new examination for a later date.
HOW NEW RESIDENTS OBTAIN A DRIVER’S LICENSE: New residents of Connecticut have 30 days to obtain a Connecticut driver’s license. They must possess an out-of-state driver’s license that is currently valid or has not expired more than 2 years. At the time of application, the following documents must be presented:
HOW TO RENEW A DRIVER’S LICENSE: Driver’s licenses renewals are done only 60 days in advance of the expiration date. License renewals must be done in person at a local DMV branch, satellite office, or photo license center. Regular driver’s licenses can also be renewed at American Automobile Association (AAA) offices. Licenses are renewed for a six-year period with a $72 fee. Individuals ages 65 or older have the option of renewing their licenses for two years.
The Connecticut DMV has a new program called the Real ID program. Further information can be found on the DMV website: www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=4078&q=477742.
NEW DRIVE ONLY LICENSE FOR UNDOCUMENTED INDIVIDUALS:
The Drive Only program for undocumented individuals who are 16 and older and cannot establish their legal presence in the United States or may not have a Social Security number. In accordance with state law, the purpose of the Drive Only license program is to improve public safety and to try to ensure that all drivers are tested, know how to drive and understand the rules and laws for driving.
For more details visit the DMV website for the “Drive Only License Overview“, and to make an appointment.
TO FIND PROVIDERS IN CONNECTICUT’S COMMUNITY RESOURCES DATABASE:
Search by service name: Driver Licenses
SOURCES: Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
INTERNET PAGE PREPARED BY: 211/pt
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED: March2020