On January 2, 2015, Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (CT DMV) implemented a “Drive Only” program for undocumented individuals who are 16 and older and cannot establish their legal presence in the United States or may not have a Social Security number.
According to Connecticut State law (Public Act 2013-89), the purpose of the Drive Only license program is to improve public safety and to try to ensure that all drivers are tested, know how to drive and understand the rules and laws for driving.
A Drive Only license is not valid for state or federal identification purposes, and cannot be used to vote.
The process involves applying for a learner’s permit that can then lead to a drive-only license. Learner’s permits are now required of all new license applicants regardless of age.
The vision and knowledge testing for the Drive Only license is by appointment only. No walk-in service is provided. Once an applicant passes the vision and knowledge tests at a DMV office, he or she will receive a learner’s permit by mail. Those 18 and older must hold the permit for 90 days, while 16 and 17 year-olds have special training requirements and must hold the permit for a longer period of time. A road test is taken after having the learner’s permit for the required time for training.
Key Points About the Program:
To make an appointment, find a local Connecticut Driving School, practice tests, fees, and more general information, visit the DMV website, “Drive Only License Overview”.
TO FIND PROVIDERS IN CONNECTICUT’S COMMUNITY RESOURCE DATABASE:
Search by service term: Driver Licenses
SOURCE: Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
PREPARED BY: 211/tb
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED: December2022