The material provided on the 211 eLibrary is for informational purposes only. It is not intended to be and should not be construed as legal advice.
The following information is summarized from: Connecticut General Assembly, Office of Legislative Research Report #2018-R-0068 (https://www.cga.ct.gov/2018/rpt/pdf/2018-R-0068.pdf).
ELDER ABUSE UNDER CONNECTICUT LAW
Under Connecticut law (CGS §§ 17a-412) and (CCGS 17b-450) elder abuse includes, but is not limited to, the willful infliction of physical pain, injury or mental anguish, or the willful deprivation by a caretaker of services which are necessary to maintain physical and mental health. Elder abuse also includes neglect, exploitation, and/or abandonment of an elderly (ages 60+) person. When the Commissioner of Social Services receives a report that an elderly person has been abused, neglected, exploited or abandoned, or is in need of protective services, he or she orders an evaluation of the situation and the condition of the elderly person. A written evaluation includes recommended actions and a determination of whether protective services are needed. The person who reported the elderly abuse will be notified of the findings, upon request.
The list of mandated reporters is very similar to that for child abuse and neglect. Included are, but not all inclusive:
When any mandated reporter has reasonable cause to suspect or believes that someone age 60 or over (1) has been abused, neglected, exploited, or abandoned, or is in a condition caused by one of these or (2) is in need of protective services (services designed to protect elderly individuals from such harm), he/she must report this to the Connecticut Department of Social Services (DSS), Protective Services for the Elderly (PSE) within 24 hours. Anyone who is required to report and doesn’t, can be fined up to $500. The report, which can be made orally or in writing, must contain the name and address of the elderly person, information regarding the nature and extent of the problem, and any other information which the reporter believes might be helpful in an investigation. As with the child abuse cases, the law grants both civil and criminal immunity to reporters in proceedings that might arise from the report, except for liability for perjury, unless the reporter acted in bad faith or with malice.
For new Connecticut updated laws in 2022/23 enacted, see the details here: Connecticut-Changes-in-Elder-Abuse-Reporting-Laws-for-review—004.pdf
People who are not mandated to report, but who suspect abuse, neglect, exploitation or abandonment of an older adult are encouraged, but not required by law, to also report to DSS Protective Services for the Elderly (PSE).
TO FIND PROVIDERS IN CONNECTICUT’S COMMUNITY RESOURCES DATABASE:
Search by program name: Protective Services for the Elderly (PSE)
SOURCES: Connecticut General Statutes, Sec. 17a-412 & 17b-450; Connecticut General Assembly, Office of Legislative Research Report #2018-R-0068
PREPARED BY: 211/mb
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED: June2023