From the Connecticut Department of Labor:
On Thursday, June 1, 2023, the minimum wage in Connecticut rose to $15.00 per hour, up from $14.00 per hour the previous 11 months. This increase is in accordance with Connecticut Public Act 19-4, which called for boosting the minimum wage by $1 every 11 months, until June 1, 2023.
Beginning on January 1, 2024, the same legislation requires the Connecticut minimum wage to become indexed to the federal employment cost index, which is calculated by the U.S. Department of Labor. Based on this indicator, the minimum wage in Connecticut will increase to $15.69 per hour on the first day of 2024.
Connecticut has a different minimum wage requirement in place for minors. Under the current law, minors (under age 18) may be employed at not less than 85% of Connecticut’s minimum wage for the first 90 days of their employment.
In Connecticut, minimum wage and other labor standards and practices are enforced by the Connecticut Department of Labor’s Wage and Workplace Standards Division. For more details on the minimum wage law in Connecticut, visit: https://www.cga.ct.gov/2019/SUM/pdf/2019SUM00004-R02HB-05004-SUM.pdf
The Connecticut minimum wage should not be confused with the federal minimum wage, which stands at $7.25 per hour. In cases where an employee is subject to both the state and federal minimum wage law, the employee is entitled to the higher of the two wages.
SOURCE: Connecticut Department of Labor
PREPARED BY: 211/nl
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED: September2023