The following information is compiled from the “Disabled Tax Relief Program” page on the State of Connecticut Office of Policy and Management (OPM) website: www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2985&q=383142&opmNav_GID=1807
State law provides a $1,000 property tax exemption for Connecticut property owners who are permanently and totally disabled. Property owners must be at least 18 years old. There is no income or asset restriction. This program is administered by the State of Connecticut Office of Policy and Management.
Property owners must provide documentation proving legal blindness or permanent disability to the town assessor’s office prior to October 1 of the year prior to application.
NOTE: Connecticut towns also provide a $3,000 exemption for property owners who are legally blind. Check with your town’s assessors office to see if your town has additional tax exemptions for residents with disabilities.
TO FIND PROVIDERS IN CONNECTICUT’S COMMUNITY RESOURCES DATABASE:
Search by program name: Assessor
SOURCE: State of Connecticut Office of Policy and Management
PREPARED BY: 211/pt
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED: July2019