The following is summarized from a State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles’ (DMV) paper entitled, “Connecticut’s Used Car Warranty” https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/20/29/ucarwarrpdf.pdf?la=en
What is the Used Car Warranty Law? Connecticut’s used car warranty law provides a warranty for used motor vehicles under the following conditions:
– The used vehicle is bought from a licensed dealer in Connecticut
– The consumer paid at least $3,000 for the vehicle
– The vehicle is less than six years old
– The vehicle is used for family, household or personal purposes.
What’s Covered Under the Law? The warranty law requires that the used motor vehicle be mechanically operational and sound at the time of the vehicle’s purchase and throughout the warranty period. If the vehicle is not mechanically operational, the dealer is required to repair the vehicle at no charge to the consumer. The warranty period is 30 days or 1,500 miles (whichever occurs first) for vehicles sold for at least $3,000 and 60 days or 3,000 miles (whichever occurs first) for vehicles sold for at least $5,000.
What’s Not Covered Under the Law? The used car warranty law does NOT cover vehicle features such as cigarette lighters, paint jobs, or upholstery. The law only applies to features that are directly related to the vehicle’s operation. In addition, the law will NOT apply in cases where the consumer has misused the vehicle or where mechanical defects have resulted from an accident after the consumer has taken possession of the vehicle.
Filing a Complaint Against a Car Dealer: If a car dealer has failed to meet the terms of the warranty agreement, a complaint can be filed with the Consumer Complaint Center of the DMV. The form titled, “Dealers and Repairers Complaint Form (form K-35)”, can be obtained in person at any DMV office or by visiting the DMV website: (www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=799&Q=245316)
To Find Providers in Connecticut’s Community Resources Database:
Search by agency name: Motor Vehicles, State of Connecticut Department of
SOURCE: State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
CONTENT LAST REVIEWED:August2021